valtz.git
15 months agoCHANGES: add recent changes from v0.7.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 20 Oct 2020 22:24:49 +0000 (18:24 -0400)]
CHANGES: add recent changes from v0.7.

15 months agoREADME: whitespace cleanup.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 20 Oct 2020 22:20:05 +0000 (18:20 -0400)]
README: whitespace cleanup.

15 months agoWarn about IP addresses in hostname fields.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 20 Oct 2020 22:00:52 +0000 (18:00 -0400)]
Warn about IP addresses in hostname fields.

A common error is to specify an IP address as the result of an MX
lookup. The RFCs (974, 1035, 2181...) state that the result should be
a "domain name," which in this context, means "host name." This commit
adds a check on "hostname" fields that rejects a dotted-quad contained
therein. In particular, it catches the aforementioned MX record error.

2 years agoWhitespace cleanup.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 5 Dec 2019 15:48:59 +0000 (10:48 -0500)]
Whitespace cleanup.

Remove some trailing whitespace and empty comments where it should (ha
ha) have no effect on the behavior of the program.

2 years agoAdd support for SRV records.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 5 Dec 2019 15:28:40 +0000 (10:28 -0500)]
Add support for SRV records.

There is a patch for djbdns that adds support for SRV records to both
tinydns-data and axfr-get:

  From: Michael Handler <handler@sub-rosa.com>
  To: dns@list.cr.yp.to
  Subject: tinydns-data SRV & axfr-get SRV/PTR patches
  Date: Thu, 14 Sep 2000 20:37:50 -040

Many distributions carry the patch, but valtz rejects the SRV records
because it doesn't recognize the "S" indicator or know how to validate
the port, weight, or priority fields.

This commit adds support for the new record type, and adds validation
routines for the three new fields. All of them are the same: ports,
weights, and priorities are all integers between 0 and 65536.

2 years agoAllow underscore characters in FQDNs and pointers.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 5 Dec 2019 15:34:54 +0000 (10:34 -0500)]
Allow underscore characters in FQDNs and pointers.

Modern DNS records can contain underscores for a number of reasons. In
particular, DKIM records involve a "_domainkey" part,

  https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc6376

that is rejected by the current "fqdn" and "p" validation routines.
Moreover, any SRV records will have a service name prefixed with an
underscore:

  https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc2782

To recognize these tokens as valid, this commit expands the "fqdn" and
"p" regular expressions to allow underscores as the first character in
each component of an FQDN.

7 years agoFix support for generic records
wKovacs64 [Wed, 17 Dec 2014 00:13:17 +0000 (17:13 -0700)]
Fix support for generic records

7 years agoInitial commit
wKovacs64 [Tue, 16 Dec 2014 23:52:07 +0000 (16:52 -0700)]
Initial commit

Forked from http://x42.com/software/valtz