octave.git
8 years agoAdd the central_difference function and a test for it.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 19:47:19 +0000 (14:47 -0500)]
Add the central_difference function and a test for it.

8 years agoFix return value name in forward_euler.m.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 18:44:59 +0000 (13:44 -0500)]
Fix return value name in forward_euler.m.

8 years agoRemove old homework code from divided_difference.m.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 17:00:28 +0000 (12:00 -0500)]
Remove old homework code from divided_difference.m.

8 years agoMove all of the tests into a subdirectory.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 6 Feb 2013 17:00:06 +0000 (12:00 -0500)]
Move all of the tests into a subdirectory.
Move the unit_test code into a subdirectory.

9 years agoUse the analytic solution Y(x) to compute y1 in problem6_method.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 18 Dec 2012 03:26:40 +0000 (22:26 -0500)]
Use the analytic solution Y(x) to compute y1 in problem6_method.
Fix a bug (bad fraction) in problem6_method1.
Remove the partition_delta function; it's stupid in light of [a : delta : b].

9 years agoDelete trailing whitespace.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 18 Dec 2012 02:25:32 +0000 (21:25 -0500)]
Delete trailing whitespace.

9 years agoSplit the partition function into partition/partition_delta.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 17 Dec 2012 20:25:32 +0000 (15:25 -0500)]
Split the partition function into partition/partition_delta.

9 years agoUpdate the poisson_matrix test with negated values.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 17 Dec 2012 15:29:59 +0000 (10:29 -0500)]
Update the poisson_matrix test with negated values.

9 years agoAdd the forward_euler1 function and a test for it.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 17 Dec 2012 15:19:15 +0000 (10:19 -0500)]
Add the forward_euler1 function and a test for it.

9 years agoWhitespace cleanup.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 17 Dec 2012 15:18:51 +0000 (10:18 -0500)]
Whitespace cleanup.

9 years agoAdd the code for problem 5iii.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 15 Nov 2012 17:11:20 +0000 (12:11 -0500)]
Add the code for problem 5iii.
Minor fixes to octave code.
Update the makefile to execute octave scripts.

9 years agoAdd the c_norm function and l2_project functions.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 15 Nov 2012 06:49:44 +0000 (01:49 -0500)]
Add the c_norm function and l2_project functions.
Fix legendre_p and legendre_p_tilde to work with vectors.

9 years agoAdd semicolons.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 15 Nov 2012 06:48:10 +0000 (01:48 -0500)]
Add semicolons.

9 years agoAdd docs for the c_inner_product function.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 15 Nov 2012 01:36:09 +0000 (20:36 -0500)]
Add docs for the c_inner_product function.

9 years agoAdd the Octave c_inner_product function.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 14 Nov 2012 22:27:04 +0000 (17:27 -0500)]
Add the Octave c_inner_product function.

9 years agoAdd some octave code to compute (scaled and unscaled) legendre polynomials.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 14 Nov 2012 20:48:23 +0000 (15:48 -0500)]
Add some octave code to compute (scaled and unscaled) legendre polynomials.

9 years agoNegate the poisson matrix during its generation.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 16 Oct 2012 02:16:13 +0000 (22:16 -0400)]
Negate the poisson matrix during its generation.

9 years agoAdd Newton's method and some tests.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 16 Oct 2012 01:22:54 +0000 (21:22 -0400)]
Add Newton's method and some tests.

9 years agoClean up a comment.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 16 Oct 2012 01:22:42 +0000 (21:22 -0400)]
Clean up a comment.

9 years agoAdd the fixed point method and some tests.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 20:02:25 +0000 (16:02 -0400)]
Add the fixed point method and some tests.

9 years agoAdd a test for the poisson_matrix function.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 19:07:18 +0000 (15:07 -0400)]
Add a test for the poisson_matrix function.

9 years agoFactor out the poisson_matrix function.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 19:00:55 +0000 (15:00 -0400)]
Factor out the poisson_matrix function.

9 years agoMove several functions out of the homework1/src directory and into the top-level...
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 15 Oct 2012 18:47:03 +0000 (14:47 -0400)]
Move several functions out of the homework1/src directory and into the top-level octave directory.

9 years agoCheck for existence of the include path before including it in divided_difference.m.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 16 Sep 2012 05:28:45 +0000 (01:28 -0400)]
Check for existence of the include path before including it in divided_difference.m.
Rename the unit test script.
Check for satisfaction of all elements in unit_test_equals.m.

9 years agoAdd unit test framework and sample script.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 16 Sep 2012 05:00:04 +0000 (01:00 -0400)]
Add unit test framework and sample script.

9 years agoMove homework #1's octave code into its directory.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 16 Sep 2012 04:59:16 +0000 (00:59 -0400)]
Move homework #1's octave code into its directory.
Add the homework #1 directory to the divided_difference() load path.

9 years agoFirst shot at a solve_poisson function.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 15 Sep 2012 03:52:13 +0000 (23:52 -0400)]
First shot at a solve_poisson function.

9 years agoRewrite the forward_euler() function to return a vector of coefficients rather than...
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 15 Sep 2012 03:51:30 +0000 (23:51 -0400)]
Rewrite the forward_euler() function to return a vector of coefficients rather than assuming that we will really have a function to evaluate.

9 years agoAdd the divided_difference_coefficients() function and reimplement divided_difference...
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 15 Sep 2012 03:50:50 +0000 (23:50 -0400)]
Add the divided_difference_coefficients() function and reimplement divided_difference() in terms of that.

9 years agoSquelch output from partition().
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 15 Sep 2012 03:50:11 +0000 (23:50 -0400)]
Squelch output from partition().

9 years agoAdd the forward_euler function.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 23:45:14 +0000 (19:45 -0400)]
Add the forward_euler function.

9 years agoClean up the divided_difference function.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 23:44:43 +0000 (19:44 -0400)]
Clean up the divided_difference function.

9 years agoAdd even/odd Octave functions.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 23:44:26 +0000 (19:44 -0400)]
Add even/odd Octave functions.

9 years agoUpdate docs for has_root().
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 19:38:13 +0000 (15:38 -0400)]
Update docs for has_root().

9 years agoReturn the number of bisections from the bisect() function.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 19:35:27 +0000 (15:35 -0400)]
Return the number of bisections from the bisect() function.
Update bisect() docs.

9 years agoAdd the partition function.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 14:28:47 +0000 (10:28 -0400)]
Add the partition function.
Remove shebang lines from non-executable files.
Begin the solve_poisson function.

9 years agoAdd the divided_difference Octave function.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 14 Sep 2012 02:54:15 +0000 (22:54 -0400)]
Add the divided_difference Octave function.

9 years agoAdd two initial octave functions, has_root and bisect.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 13 Sep 2012 18:00:51 +0000 (14:00 -0400)]
Add two initial octave functions, has_root and bisect.