mailbox-count.git
20 months agomailbox-count.cabal: bump version to 0.0.5. master 0.0.5
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 3 Feb 2020 21:03:31 +0000 (16:03 -0500)]
mailbox-count.cabal: bump version to 0.0.5.

20 months agosrc/OptionalConfiguration.hs: import (<>) from the Semigroup class.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 3 Feb 2020 20:58:11 +0000 (15:58 -0500)]
src/OptionalConfiguration.hs: import (<>) from the Semigroup class.

Ha ha, although Data.Semigroup was moved into GHC in v8.0, it wasn't
added to Prelude until v8.4. So there's a THIRD distinct situation we
need to handle to define a friggin monoid.

20 months agosrc/OptionalConfiguration.hs: use an explicit mappend. 0.0.4
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 17:41:49 +0000 (12:41 -0500)]
src/OptionalConfiguration.hs: use an explicit mappend.

I have a feeling that in older versions of GHC, the Monoid instance
is not smart enough to use an existing Semigroup instance for its
mappend implementation. Let's just make it explicit.

20 months agomailbox-count.cabal: update the version to 0.0.4.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 17:28:58 +0000 (12:28 -0500)]
mailbox-count.cabal: update the version to 0.0.4.

20 months agomailbox-count.cabal: depend on semigroups conditionally.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 17:26:47 +0000 (12:26 -0500)]
mailbox-count.cabal: depend on semigroups conditionally.

Just kidding, when the semigroups package promises "a backwards-
compatible API," what they mean is that they deleted the entire source
tree in the minor release 0.18.2 and nothing works at all. So instead,
we need to do a version check on GHC within the cabal file, and
conditionally depend on a version of semigroups before 0.18.2.

20 months agotest/Doctests.hs: update the include path for newer cabals. 0.0.3
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 05:40:55 +0000 (00:40 -0500)]
test/Doctests.hs: update the include path for newer cabals.

20 months agomailbox-count.cabal: add other-modules for the test suite.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 05:37:38 +0000 (00:37 -0500)]
mailbox-count.cabal: add other-modules for the test suite.

20 months agosrc/OptionalConfiguration.hs: don't derive Typeable.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 05:36:10 +0000 (00:36 -0500)]
src/OptionalConfiguration.hs: don't derive Typeable.

As of ghc-7.10.1, it's not necessary to derive Typeable. So let's not
do it. The cabal file was updated to require >=7.10.1 as a result.

20 months agosrc,test: use explicit import/export lists.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 05:35:24 +0000 (00:35 -0500)]
src,test: use explicit import/export lists.

20 months agosrc/OptionalConfiguration.hs: make OptionalConfiguration.hs a Semigroup.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 05:02:07 +0000 (00:02 -0500)]
src/OptionalConfiguration.hs: make OptionalConfiguration.hs a Semigroup.

This fixes the build with >=ghc-8.4, where monoids must also be
semigroups. The "semigroups" package was added as a build dependency
to (hopefully) keep things working with older versions of GHC.

20 months agomailbox-count.cabal: add Paths_mailbox_count to other-modules.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 05:01:26 +0000 (00:01 -0500)]
mailbox-count.cabal: add Paths_mailbox_count to other-modules.

Otherwise, the build system complains that it's missing.

20 months agomailbox-count.cabal: bump version to 0.0.3.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 04:18:52 +0000 (23:18 -0500)]
mailbox-count.cabal: bump version to 0.0.3.

20 months agomakefile: move ghc-options from the cabal file into the makefile.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 04:18:04 +0000 (23:18 -0500)]
makefile: move ghc-options from the cabal file into the makefile.

We shouldn't be hard-coding user preferences into the cabal file that
everyone uses. Instead, GHC should support a variable like CFLAGS that
lets users and developers specify what warnings and optimizations they
would like to use. Instead, we have to fake it: I've standardized the
Gentoo HCFLAGS variable within the makefile, so that a few warnings
will be appended to the (exported) environment variable but otherwise
no flags will be forced by the cabal file.

This should work for me when I'm developing, because the warnings will
be appended to the HCFLAGS="-O2" that I have set in my environment. It
will work on Gentoo, because HCFLAGS are already passed to the cabal
build system in Gentoo. It will work(ish) everywhere else, because
nothing will get passed to the cabal build system, and that's okay.

20 months agomakefile: change the test target to "check" as with autotools.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 04:16:40 +0000 (23:16 -0500)]
makefile: change the test target to "check" as with autotools.

4 years agoSwitch from GPL-3 to AGPL-3 and update project URLs.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 8 Nov 2016 03:34:47 +0000 (22:34 -0500)]
Switch from GPL-3 to AGPL-3 and update project URLs.

7 years agoAdd a cabal description and remove the TODO.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 31 May 2014 16:04:13 +0000 (12:04 -0400)]
Add a cabal description and remove the TODO.
Bump to version 0.0.2.

7 years agoHandle SQL errors gracefully.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 30 May 2014 18:46:52 +0000 (14:46 -0400)]
Handle SQL errors gracefully.

7 years agoAdd man page description and fix some options/examples.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 30 May 2014 18:46:28 +0000 (14:46 -0400)]
Add man page description and fix some options/examples.

7 years agoLoosen deps, set version to 0.0.1.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 30 May 2014 14:08:51 +0000 (10:08 -0400)]
Loosen deps, set version to 0.0.1.

7 years agoAdd options/examples (unfinished) to the man page.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 28 May 2014 20:23:41 +0000 (16:23 -0400)]
Add options/examples (unfinished) to the man page.

7 years agoUse consistent capitalization.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 28 May 2014 20:22:18 +0000 (16:22 -0400)]
Use consistent capitalization.

7 years agoAdd SQLite support (default if a filename is given as the database).
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 16 May 2014 01:36:43 +0000 (21:36 -0400)]
Add SQLite support (default if a filename is given as the database).
Make the summary/default queries configurable.

7 years agoUpdate TODO file for recent changes.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 00:57:58 +0000 (20:57 -0400)]
Update TODO file for recent changes.

7 years agoFix hlint suggestions.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 00:56:06 +0000 (20:56 -0400)]
Fix hlint suggestions.

7 years agoAdd an example config file.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 00:52:40 +0000 (20:52 -0400)]
Add an example config file.

7 years agoAlign the mailbox counts in the summary report to the same column.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 00:51:40 +0000 (20:51 -0400)]
Align the mailbox counts in the summary report to the same column.
Add mailbox counts to the detail report.
Remove the 'both' option.

7 years agoMake all connection string parameters optional.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 22 Apr 2014 23:23:33 +0000 (19:23 -0400)]
Make all connection string parameters optional.

7 years agoAdd a TODO.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 22 Apr 2014 15:30:14 +0000 (11:30 -0400)]
Add a TODO.

7 years agoMove most of the report functionality into its own module.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 22 Apr 2014 15:28:02 +0000 (11:28 -0400)]
Move most of the report functionality into its own module.
Add an HUnit test suite (with sqlite3 database fixture).
Add a .ghci file.
Get the detail report working.

7 years agoBegin throwing real code together.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 22 Apr 2014 01:19:28 +0000 (21:19 -0400)]
Begin throwing real code together.

7 years agoInitial commit, Hello, world!
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 21 Apr 2014 14:59:58 +0000 (10:59 -0400)]
Initial commit, Hello, world!