haeredes.git
20 months agotest/Doctests.hs: fix double-slash typo. master
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 2 Feb 2020 05:40:11 +0000 (00:40 -0500)]
test/Doctests.hs: fix double-slash typo.

20 months agohaeredes.cabal: bump version to 0.5.2. 0.5.2
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 1 Feb 2020 23:09:01 +0000 (18:09 -0500)]
haeredes.cabal: bump version to 0.5.2.

20 months agomakefile: move ghc-options from the cabal file into the makefile.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 1 Feb 2020 22:57:18 +0000 (17:57 -0500)]
makefile: move ghc-options from the cabal file into the makefile.

We shouldn't be hard-coding user preferences into the cabal file that
everyone uses. Instead, GHC should support a variable like CFLAGS that
lets users and developers specify what warnings and optimizations
they would like to use. Instead, we have to fake it: I've standardized
the Gentoo HCFLAGS variable within the makefile, so that a few warnings
will be appended to the (exported) environment variable but otherwise
no flags will be forced by the cabal file.

This should work for me when I'm developing, because the warnings will
be appended to the HCFLAGS="-O2" that I have set in my environment. It
will work on Gentoo, because HCFLAGS are already passed to the cabal
build system in Gentoo. It will work(ish) everywhere else, because
nothing will get passed to the cabal build system, and that's okay.

20 months agosrc/DNS.hs: update a test, example.com now has a NULLMX record.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 1 Feb 2020 22:55:57 +0000 (17:55 -0500)]
src/DNS.hs: update a test, example.com now has a NULLMX record.

20 months agomakefile: rename the test target to "check" as in autotools.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 1 Feb 2020 22:35:32 +0000 (17:35 -0500)]
makefile: rename the test target to "check" as in autotools.

2 years agosrc: apply all hlint suggestions.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 4 Mar 2019 03:15:43 +0000 (22:15 -0500)]
src: apply all hlint suggestions.

2 years agohaeredes.cabal: drop superfluous build-depends for the shelltest suite.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 4 Mar 2019 03:02:23 +0000 (22:02 -0500)]
haeredes.cabal: drop superfluous build-depends for the shelltest suite.

2 years agohaeredes.cabal: fix usage examples and bump to v0.5.1. 0.5.1
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 23:37:57 +0000 (18:37 -0500)]
haeredes.cabal: fix usage examples and bump to v0.5.1.

The usage examples in the cabal files were (of course) out of sync
with the ones in the man page and on my website. DRY, do repeat
yourself.

2 years agomakefile: remove "hscolour" pass over the docs.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 23:35:09 +0000 (18:35 -0500)]
makefile: remove "hscolour" pass over the docs.

Cabal tells me that "cabal hscolour" is deprecated in favor of "cabal
haddock --hyperlink-source", which we already do. Things look okay after
simply deleting the hscolour pass, so whatever.

2 years agoRename shelltest files because Cabal doesn't know how globs work.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 22:32:34 +0000 (17:32 -0500)]
Rename shelltest files because Cabal doesn't know how globs work.

While trying to add my shelltest files to the release tarball, I am
informed that the glob syntax within my cabal file is not the same
fifty-year-old glob syntax that everyone else uses. This commit
renames the test files to not contain more than one period, in order
to make Cabal's globbing match them. You are all assholes. A heartfelt
fuck-you for making me do this.

2 years agohaeredes.cabal: include shelltest test cases in the release tarball.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 22:28:44 +0000 (17:28 -0500)]
haeredes.cabal: include shelltest test cases in the release tarball.

2 years agoSort output to fix random breakage in the test suite.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 03:33:36 +0000 (22:33 -0500)]
Sort output to fix random breakage in the test suite.

The results that we get back from DNS are returned in an arbitrary
order. Technically that's fine, because all we want to see is the
set-difference between the actual/expected results. However, it breaks
our test suite which needs to know what certain examples will
output. This commit sorts the results, so that the output is a little
bit more deterministic (subject to network issues and changes).

2 years agohaeredes.cabal: bump version to 0.5.0.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 03:27:17 +0000 (22:27 -0500)]
haeredes.cabal: bump version to 0.5.0.

2 years agotest: add a shelltestrunner test suite for the man page examples.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 03:20:55 +0000 (22:20 -0500)]
test: add a shelltestrunner test suite for the man page examples.

2 years agodoc: use POSIX shell syntax in the man page examples.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 03:10:42 +0000 (22:10 -0500)]
doc: use POSIX shell syntax in the man page examples.

The shell examples given in the man page use the "haeredes <<< foo"
syntax to feed the string "foo" into haeredes on stdin. That's a
Bash-only shortcut for "echo foo | haeredes", however, and the latter
works in all POSIX-compatible shells. So, this commit updates the
documentation to use the more reliable syntax.

2 years agosrc/Main.hs: fix handling of "domain not found" errors.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 02:27:19 +0000 (21:27 -0500)]
src/Main.hs: fix handling of "domain not found" errors.

The "not delegated" example in the man page is now failing, because
we're getting back a NameError (failure result) instead of an empty
success result. I'm not sure when this changed -- and my fix is
probably backwards-incompatible -- but I've updated haeredes to look
for the NameError rather than an empty result. The documented example
works again, but I've only tested with v3.0.2 of the "dns" library.

2 years agodoc: update an example now that ICANN has delegated the "bar" gTLD.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 02:25:53 +0000 (21:25 -0500)]
doc: update an example now that ICANN has delegated the "bar" gTLD.

2 years agohaeredes.cabal: add Paths_haeredes to other-modules to silence a warning.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 01:53:28 +0000 (20:53 -0500)]
haeredes.cabal: add Paths_haeredes to other-modules to silence a warning.

If Cabal is happy, I'm happy. This appears to not do the wrong thing.
In other words, nothing is changed by including Paths_haeredes in the
list of other-modules.

2 years agotest/Doctests.hs: support new Cabal autogen path in doctests.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 01:44:21 +0000 (20:44 -0500)]
test/Doctests.hs: support new Cabal autogen path in doctests.

Since the last haeredes release, Cabal has moved its auto-generated
modules from dist/build/autogen to dist/build/$component/autogen,
breaking our doctests which need to load the Paths_haeredes module.
These paths are passed to the doctest runner as a list, so it's easy
to support both: we now just pass both paths.

2 years agotest/Doctests.hs: add an explicit export list to silence a GHC warning.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 01:43:55 +0000 (20:43 -0500)]
test/Doctests.hs: add an explicit export list to silence a GHC warning.

2 years agosrc/Main.hs: add an explicit export list to silence a GHC warning.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 01:43:23 +0000 (20:43 -0500)]
src/Main.hs: add an explicit export list to silence a GHC warning.

2 years agosrc/Timeout.hs: add export list to silence a GHC warning.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 01:34:10 +0000 (20:34 -0500)]
src/Timeout.hs: add export list to silence a GHC warning.

2 years agosrc/Main.hs: inline MissingH "join" function to eliminate the dependency.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 2 Mar 2019 01:29:32 +0000 (20:29 -0500)]
src/Main.hs: inline MissingH "join" function to eliminate the dependency.

4 years agoUpdate project URLs.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 8 Nov 2016 03:32:59 +0000 (22:32 -0500)]
Update project URLs.

5 years agoEnable/fix more warnings for GHC 8+.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 7 Jul 2016 16:31:54 +0000 (12:31 -0400)]
Enable/fix more warnings for GHC 8+.

5 years agoDon't derive Typeable in Timeout.hs (GHC 8+).
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 7 Jul 2016 16:29:07 +0000 (12:29 -0400)]
Don't derive Typeable in Timeout.hs (GHC 8+).

5 years agoDon't derive Typeable (GHC 8+).
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 7 Jul 2016 16:26:07 +0000 (12:26 -0400)]
Don't derive Typeable (GHC 8+).

5 years agoBump to v0.4.5 in the cabal file. 0.4.5
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 6 Jul 2016 19:38:15 +0000 (15:38 -0400)]
Bump to v0.4.5 in the cabal file.

5 years agoFix a monomorphism restriction warning (GHC 8).
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 6 Jul 2016 19:37:38 +0000 (15:37 -0400)]
Fix a monomorphism restriction warning (GHC 8).

5 years agoFix the output of a network-dependent doctest.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 16 Nov 2015 13:50:14 +0000 (08:50 -0500)]
Fix the output of a network-dependent doctest.

The IP address of example.com changed, so the doctest was updated.

5 years agoVersion bump to change license.
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 16 Nov 2015 04:07:58 +0000 (23:07 -0500)]
Version bump to change license.

6 years agoCabal version bump to 0.4.3. 0.4.3
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 4 Nov 2014 14:33:28 +0000 (09:33 -0500)]
Cabal version bump to 0.4.3.

6 years agoNormalize results to prevent false positives in Main.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 4 Nov 2014 14:33:09 +0000 (09:33 -0500)]
Normalize results to prevent false positives in Main.

6 years agoUse explicit annotation to reduce duplication in CommandLine.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 4 Nov 2014 14:32:43 +0000 (09:32 -0500)]
Use explicit annotation to reduce duplication in CommandLine.

7 years agoFix an example, loosen version bounds, and bump to v0.4.2. 0.4.2
Michael Orlitzky [Mon, 22 Sep 2014 16:20:43 +0000 (12:20 -0400)]
Fix an example, loosen version bounds, and bump to v0.4.2.

7 years agoVersion bump to v0.4.1.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 22 Jun 2014 23:10:33 +0000 (19:10 -0400)]
Version bump to v0.4.1.
Remove the tasty test dependencies.
Remove the tasty test suite (it only tested the normalization functions).
Require dns >= 1.4.
Use the normalize* functions moved upstream to Network.DNS.Utils in v1.4.0.

7 years agoBump the version and switch to tasty (from test-framework). 0.4.0
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 18 Apr 2014 01:02:16 +0000 (21:02 -0400)]
Bump the version and switch to tasty (from test-framework).
Clean up the makefile a little.

8 years agoFix parallelization and bump to v0.3.0. 0.3.0
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 5 Oct 2013 23:06:57 +0000 (19:06 -0400)]
Fix parallelization and bump to v0.3.0.

8 years agoDepend on the major version of the dns library. 0.2.0
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 13 Sep 2013 14:16:36 +0000 (10:16 -0400)]
Depend on the major version of the dns library.

8 years agoChange versioning scheme to something more common.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 13 Sep 2013 14:14:31 +0000 (10:14 -0400)]
Change versioning scheme to something more common.

8 years agoUpdate code and doctests to support the new version of the dns library.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 13 Sep 2013 13:35:40 +0000 (09:35 -0400)]
Update code and doctests to support the new version of the dns library.

8 years agoAdd an example of a timeout being ignored to the man page.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 13 Sep 2013 13:26:36 +0000 (09:26 -0400)]
Add an example of a timeout being ignored to the man page.

8 years agoBump dns version dependency to >= 1.0.0.
Michael Orlitzky [Fri, 13 Sep 2013 13:21:07 +0000 (09:21 -0400)]
Bump dns version dependency to >= 1.0.0.

8 years agoAdd the DNS ERRORS section to the man page, in preparation for the dns library bump.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 3 Sep 2013 16:14:14 +0000 (12:14 -0400)]
Add the DNS ERRORS section to the man page, in preparation for the dns library bump.

8 years agoClean up object files in `make clean`.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 3 Sep 2013 16:05:45 +0000 (12:05 -0400)]
Clean up object files in `make clean`.

8 years agoAdd a "timeout" command-line argument.
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 3 Sep 2013 15:19:15 +0000 (11:19 -0400)]
Add a "timeout" command-line argument.

8 years agoChange "IP" to "HOST" in the --server arg.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 1 Aug 2013 20:03:25 +0000 (16:03 -0400)]
Change "IP" to "HOST" in the --server arg.

8 years agoTruly add the test suite source files, which should have gone in a few commits ago.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 1 Aug 2013 19:34:53 +0000 (15:34 -0400)]
Truly add the test suite source files, which should have gone in a few commits ago.

8 years agoBump version in the cabal file.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 1 Aug 2013 19:34:01 +0000 (15:34 -0400)]
Bump version in the cabal file.

8 years agoAdd a man page section on parallel queries.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 1 Aug 2013 19:33:41 +0000 (15:33 -0400)]
Add a man page section on parallel queries.

8 years agoAdd --no-append-root example to the cabal file.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 1 Aug 2013 18:21:25 +0000 (14:21 -0400)]
Add --no-append-root example to the cabal file.

8 years agoFix hlint suggestion.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 31 Jul 2013 22:11:46 +0000 (18:11 -0400)]
Fix hlint suggestion.

8 years agoAdd a doctest suite.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 31 Jul 2013 21:54:48 +0000 (17:54 -0400)]
Add a doctest suite.
Add a quickcheck property for normalize_case.
Add another test/property for normalize_root.

8 years agoAdd a skeleton test suite.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 31 Jul 2013 19:41:41 +0000 (15:41 -0400)]
Add a skeleton test suite.

8 years agoAdd an example of --no-append-root.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 31 Jul 2013 19:41:20 +0000 (15:41 -0400)]
Add an example of --no-append-root.

8 years agoDrop two periods for consistency.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 28 Jul 2013 20:43:36 +0000 (16:43 -0400)]
Drop two periods for consistency.

8 years agoExplain the answer/authority section handling in the man page.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 28 Jul 2013 20:42:16 +0000 (16:42 -0400)]
Explain the answer/authority section handling in the man page.
Add the no-append-root option.

8 years agoSupport hostnames as --server arguments.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 28 Jul 2013 04:23:05 +0000 (00:23 -0400)]
Support hostnames as --server arguments.
Add basic support for authority section results in NS mode.
Add ExitCodes module.

8 years agoImport explicitly from CmdArgs.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 28 Jul 2013 02:51:12 +0000 (22:51 -0400)]
Import explicitly from CmdArgs.

8 years agoAdd missing period.
Michael Orlitzky [Sun, 28 Jul 2013 02:47:13 +0000 (22:47 -0400)]
Add missing period.

8 years agoAdd a man page, and add a description to the cabal file.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 27 Jul 2013 18:08:47 +0000 (14:08 -0400)]
Add a man page, and add a description to the cabal file.

8 years agoFix hlint warnings.
Michael Orlitzky [Sat, 27 Jul 2013 00:51:28 +0000 (20:51 -0400)]
Fix hlint warnings.

8 years agoAdd MX support (untested).
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 25 Jul 2013 01:12:29 +0000 (21:12 -0400)]
Add MX support (untested).

8 years agoRename to haeredes.
Michael Orlitzky [Thu, 25 Jul 2013 00:37:03 +0000 (20:37 -0400)]
Rename to haeredes.

8 years agoGet it working for NS records.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 24 Jul 2013 23:16:19 +0000 (19:16 -0400)]
Get it working for NS records.

8 years agoFirst iteration that does anything.
Michael Orlitzky [Wed, 24 Jul 2013 14:37:33 +0000 (10:37 -0400)]
First iteration that does anything.

8 years agoInitial commit, Hello, World!
Michael Orlitzky [Tue, 23 Jul 2013 14:55:35 +0000 (10:55 -0400)]
Initial commit, Hello, World!